Shad-darshanas: The Six Systems of Vedic Philosophy

Please help spread Hinduism by
sharing these articles on facebook:


“Besides Vyasadeva, there are other sages who are authors of six different philosophical systems, namely Gautama, Kanada, Kapila, Patanjali, Jaimini and Ashtavakra. Theism is explained completely in the Vedanta-sutra, whereas in other systems of philosophical speculation, practically no mention is given to the ultimate cause of all causes. One can sit on the Vyasasana only after being conversant in all systems of philosophy so that one can present fully the theistic views of the Bhagavatam in defiance of all other systems.” – Srimad Bhagavatam 1.1.7, Purport by Srila Prabhupada

This lecture series was recorded in Mayapur, 1988.

You can download the lectures in MP3 format here or stream them using the player below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *